Uncategorized

Intolerant india

Until yesterday morning, my social media feeds were filled with bitter “Intolerant India” posts.

Yesterday afternoon, the same intolerant people, unable to tolerate people suffering due to the floods in Chennai, fill my feeds with posts like:

“I can accommodate 10 people in my house. Here is my address.”
“I can recharge your prepaid mobile phones, PM / DM me”
“I can serve food. My mobile phone number is ___”
“Call me if you need help distributing relief supplies”
“I am a doctor, I can help people who are sick”,
“Call me up if you need a pick up from this area”..

Programmers are writing crowdsourcing software for helping during the crisis, places of worship are opening up to provide shelter and are serving food to those affected, what not?

There was not a word of religion mentioned except in exactly one instance, “The Jain temple has food ready for 5000 people. Please come pick it up” (as a landmark). Where did all the tolerance and intolerance go? That’s the ground reality in the country!

I really don’t mind such an “intolerant” India!!

Standard

Leave a comment